2019 - Position 18
By Chris Bray, Feb 1 2019 04:53PM
Match Play. Red trails 3-5 to 7. Should Red double? If doubled, should White take?
What would be a trivial no double/ beaver for money becomes a perfectly sensible (and mandatory) double at 4-awy vs 2-away.
That score gives the trailer the maximum cube leverage. Any sniff of a gammon is enough to warrant a cube turn. Here Red has a racing lead and White has a lone back checker. That is more than enough justification. In fact, not doubling is a blunder!
I know the rule - "when you just smell a gammon at 4away/2away, you must turn the cube", but I would wait one roll.