• 2018 - Position 174


    Match Play. 0-0 to 5. Should Red redouble? If redoubled, should White take?

    For money it would be a double blunder to redouble here. With a fully active cube giving it away now is definitely wrong by a long way.

    However, at this match score, getting to 4-0 (Crawford) or even winning the match with a gammon is massive and not redoubling is a double blunder. For the umpteenth time the match score determines the decision.


    • 1. Oct 11 2018 4:22PM by Peder

      White will not be pleased by a redouble. She has a take, but who knows?

    • 2. Oct 12 2018 3:19AM by Mackenzie

      Red must have a redouble, but I don't think that White has a take at this score. The recube value is so low, that I think White could only take for money (with Red dancing 1/4 of the time, White could have a potent redouble within a couple rolls).

    • 3. Oct 12 2018 6:54AM by Leo

      I think the take is crystal clear. it's the redouble that's in doubt. White has a massive lead in the race and if red misses the blot on his 5 pt (23 misses), white is not far away from scooting around the board and winning a gammon of her own. However, red does have 13 shots at the blot in his home board and some chances to contain and close out white's stranded blot. I think that gives him just enough to redouble.

Photo crop (passport)

Web feed

Welcome to my blog of interesting backgammon positions.

These will be posted more or less daily and also tweeted. As I add a new position I will give a commentary for the previous one.

Follow me

Please leave your comments by clicking on the word 'comment' beneath the problem..

Readers are invited to send in their own positions for possible inclusion in Position of the Day to Chris.

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player